About Us

About School Of Nursing, UNTH

The School of Nursing, University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital is located in Enugu Metropolis in Enugu North Local Government Area of Enugu State in the South Eastern Zone of Nigeria. It is bounded in the north by Iva Valley, South by the Central Police Station (CPS), East by Government Secondary School and West by Ngwo town. The environment is surrounded by scenic hills which make it appear cozy at first sight. At general outlook, the school environment is friendly and free of health and safety hazard. Hence, there is adequate water supply, healthy air quality, safe play grounds and twenty-four hour security.

The school has a healthy teaching learning environment with well-structured college classrooms, adequately lighted, ventilated, spaced with more than 2 feet apart from each student. This environment fosters the mental, physical, social and spiritual well-being of the learning individual.

Brief History

The school of Nursing, University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Ituku/Ozalla, Enugu was established initially as a Specialist Hospital School of Nursing but later approved for training of General Nurses with the University of Nigeria in 1971. On April 1st 1973, the school became the School of Nursing , University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital when the hospital became a Teaching hospital, under the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. It was inspected by a team from the then Nursing Council of Nigeria led by the Registrar/Secretary General in March,1972, and given a final approval for the training of general nurses. The present school block was designed by the pioneer principal, late Mrs.I.C.Amobi, and became functional same March 1972. The school at the time occupied only the first floor of the building, while the ground floor was laboratory and other staff offices until 1986. The school still shares the teaching laboratory with the medical school and the School of Medical Laboratory Technology. The school building comprises a large hall- convertible into two classrooms, with capacity to take 200 on the first floor, with the staff common room, I staff office, Principal’s office, Secretarial staff offices, Demonstration room and school store. The pioneer Principal of the school, Late Mrs. I.C. Amobi was instrumental to the school being in place. The school has since had other Principals in the persons of Mrs. E.N. Maduka, Dr. C.G. Ugochukwu (who worked tirelessly to raise the standard of the school to its greater heights), Mrs. G.C. Obijiaku, Mrs. D.C. Nnamani, Dr. A.I. Nnabuenyi, and Mrs. E.O. Ugbam. The current Principal is Mrs. C.C. Ndubuka who is working with her team of academic staff assisted by the non-academic staff.